What to do when charged with DUI | What no to do when charged with DUI | Common DUI Police Tests | Alabama DUI Penalties
Enhanced Penalties for DUI | Fighting a DUI in Huntsville | Common DUI Questions | Why Choose Us?


No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of the legal services performed by other lawyers. *Full Legal Disclaimer

Law Offices of Segal & Segal, LLC, 106 Lincoln St SE, Huntsville, AL 35801 - Phone: (256) 533-6465 Fax: (256) 513-2133

Callverse

 

*FREE ONLINE CONSULTATION:

(COMPLETE & SUBMIT FORM)

 

Alabama DUI Penalties


Implied Consent:


The laws for drivers suspected of driving under the influence in Madison County, Alabama compromise  of  breath, blood, or urine testing for alcohol content these are known as "implied consent laws." Denial to subject yourself to these tests can carry penalties that can include suspension of a driving license for up to a year.


Blood-Alcohol Concentration:


In Madison County, Alabama, any driver with a blood alcohol concentration (also known as BAC) - above .08 percent is considered “per se intoxicated”. Under this law, this proof is all that is required for a driver to be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

Zero Tolerance Blood-Alcohol Concentration / Underage DUI


In Alabama, “zero tolerance laws” focuses on drivers not of legal drinking age. In Madison County, Alabama, person who is under the age of 21 and is operating a vehicle with a .02 percent blood-alcohol level or over are subject to DUI penalties.


Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties:


These penalties are minimum mandatory penalties on drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration above Alabama’s maximum allowable level of .08 percent or drivers subject to the implied consent laws for declining to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing for blood-alcohol content.


Penalties involve suspension or revocation (meaning transitory or permanent removal) of the driver’s license by the DMV:


In Madison County Alabama, for the first DUI offense the mandatory suspension is 90 days. For the second offense, it is one year. For the third offense, the mandatory suspension is three years.


Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment:


Alcohol teaching and prevention program, treatment for alcohol abuse, and consideration of a person for possible alcohol or drug dependency can be required for DUI offenders in Alabama. These steps are often optional instead of serving a sentence of incarceration or paying fines.


Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment:


Alcohol instruction and prevention programs, treatment for alcohol abuse, and appraisal of a person for possible alcohol or drug dependency can be required for DUI offenders in Madison County, Alabama. These steps are often optional instead being incarcerated or paying fines.